Reckless driving laws in Virginia
In Virginia, reckless driving is considered as a major traffic violation irrespective of the city. Therefore, laws have been constructed to deal with the reckless driving violations. The Virginia code section 46.2 – 862, 46.2 – 852 and 46.2 – 868, deals with the reckless driving limitations and their harsh penalties.
Do I need the help of a professional lawyer in defending the reckless driving case in Virginia?
As reckless driving is a criminal offense in Virginia, the penalties for reckless driving are harsh and can cause you many long-term disadvantages. The conviction for a criminal offense is a daunting experience for any individual who has been convicted for the first time. According to the Virginia code, reckless driving has 14 subcategories for which an individual can be charged, and punishments for each category can be different.
- General reckless driving charges
- Speeding recklessly
- Reckless driving (Aggressively)
- Driving in parking lots
- Not maintaining proper distance with the other vehicle
- Driving with another vehicle on the similar lane
- Driving with the faulty breaks
- Driving without headlights
- Overloading your vehicle to block the view
- Passing a Stopped school bus
- Passing railroad carelessly
- Recking on the highway
- Recklessly driving and damaging any property
To understand these subdivisions and fight your case in the court, it is important that you take the guidance of any experienced reckless driving lawyer. One should get the help of an experienced reckless driving attorney in order to mitigate their reckless driving charges.
It is equally important to enrich your knowledge with the possible reckless driving consequences
Penalties for reckless driving in Virginia:
- Huge fines amounting up to $ 2500
- Suspension of the driving license for a maximum period of 6 months
- Imprisonment of maximum 12 months
- Allotment of up to 6 demerit points by the department of motor vehicle Virginia
How to mitigate the reckless driving penalties along with your lawyer in Virginia?
There are certain ways through which an individual can mitigate or reduce his reckless driving charges in Virginia. The following tips can help an individual to strengthen his case:
- If you have been charged with an accident and the police officer has himself not seen the incident, you may challenge your case.
- Get a copy of your driving transcript to prove your clean driving record. This record is easily available with the department of motor vehicle.
- If you genuinely had an emergency, you can rest your case in front of the judge with an apology and a reasonable excuse.
- The issues with the radar calibration can be highlighted.
- The issues with the reading of the speed meter of the vehicle can be highlighted.
- You should calibrate your speed meter.
- You should take part in any driving education course before the court’s hearing.
- You should take part in any of the community services.